NAME SECTION

2023 WUA Baseball Homework
Topic 4: Hitting Part Il (Due: Feb 22)

Answer each with True or False.

1. Prior to the pitch, a batter is considered in the batter's box when any part of his foot is within the
box.

2. The penalty for the batter disconcerting the pitcher is a strike.

3. When a batter who is an improper batter enters the batter's box and it is brought to the umpire's
attention, he is called out.

4. On batter’s interference, only the batter is called out. Runners may advance if the umpire judges
the interference had no impact on the catcher’s ability to throw.

5. A batter is out if he bunts the ball foul while his knee is touching home plate.
6. When the batter interferes with the catcher trying to make a play, he is always called out.
7. Follow-through interference by the batter is a delayed dead ball.

8. When several players bat out of order before discovery and the proper batter's place in the order
arrives while that player is on base, he shall be called out.

9. The offense can replace an improper batter without penalty if it is discovered before the improper
batter has completed his turn at bat.

10. B1 is called out on strikes. He deliberately throws his helmet in disgust. The umpire restricts
him to the bench for the duration of the game. This is the correct ruling.




